

PURPOSE

NEA Board of Directors created the Friend of Education Award as an annual recognition of a person, organization or group whose leadership, acts, and support have contributed to the improvement of American education on a national level. Past recipients include U.S. Presidents, a Secretary of the U.S. Department of Education, a Supreme Court Justice, U.S. Senators and Representatives, Governors, educators, civil rights leaders, journalists, authors, and an athlete.

QUALIFICATIONS

The NEA priorities for 2024-2025 focuses on advancing Racial Justice in Education, promoting a safe, healthy, inclusive public schools, improve the well-being of educators, supporting professional excellence, improve student learning and create strong public schools. In alignment with these goals, a duly nominated individual, organization or group shall have significantly contributed to the advancement of public education through exhibited leadership, acts, and support of education on a national level, that establishes the nominee as a friend of education, education employees, and/or students. A nominee doesn't have to be an American citizen, but should reflect philosophies and principles that advance NEA's mission, priorities, and strategic goals.

NOMINATIONS

Any member of the National Education Association or any local or state affiliate of NEA may nominate an individual, organization or group to the Friend of Education Award Committee by completing a nomination form and submitting it to the NEA by **January 24, 2025.** Each nomination must be signed and submitted by an NEA member. Non-NEA members are not eligible as nominators.

SELECTION OF RECIPIENT

The Friend of Education Award Committee, composed of six members of the NEA Board of Directors, will review each duly submitted nomination and recommend a recipient to the NEA Board of Directors for approval.

PRESENTATION

The presentation of the Friend of Education Award is a scheduled event at the annual NEA Representative Assembly, and is made to the award recipient by the NEA President.

SUBMISSION DEADLINE

The deadline for receiving nominations for the 2025 NEA Friend of Education Award is January 24, 2025. Nominations must be signed and include proof of the nominator's NEA membership or affiliation. Completed nomination forms, together with all accompanying materials, should be emailed to Tina Paden at **(tpaden@nea.org)**.



FRIEND OF EDUCATION PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS

1972	Lyndon B. Johnson
1973	Abraham A. Ribicoff
1974	Carl D. Perkins
1975	Terry Sanford
1976	Roy Wilkins
1977	Hubert H. Humphrey
1978	Joan Ganz Cooney
1979	Thurgood Marshall
1980	Jimmy Carter
1981	George McGovern
1982	Arthur S. Flemming
1983	Frosty Troy
1984	Robert T. Stafford
1985	Barbara Parker
1986	Christa McAuliffe
1987	Ernest Boyer
1988	Augustus F. Hawkins
1989	Mary Hatwood Futrell
1990	Claiborne Pell
1991	Alan Page
1992	Jonathan Kozol
1993	John S. Hendricks

1994	David Berliner
1995	Richard W. Riley
1996	William Jefferson Clinton
1997	James B. Hunt
1998	Zell Miller
1999	Hillary Rodham Clinton
2000	Edward M. Kennedy
2001	Morris Dees
2002	James Jeffords
2003	Paul Wellstone
2004	Marian Wright Edelman
2004	Marian Wright Edelman Cheryl Brown Henderson
2005	Cheryl Brown Henderson
2005	Cheryl Brown Henderson The Tom Joyner Foundation
2005 2006 2007	Cheryl Brown Henderson The Tom Joyner Foundation Nancy Pelosi
2005 2006 2007 2008	Cheryl Brown Henderson The Tom Joyner Foundation Nancy Pelosi Barbara Morgan
2005 2006 2007 2008 2009	Cheryl Brown Henderson The Tom Joyner Foundation Nancy Pelosi Barbara Morgan Linda Darling-Hammond
2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010	Cheryl Brown Henderson The Tom Joyner Foundation Nancy Pelosi Barbara Morgan Linda Darling-Hammond Diane Ravitch
2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011	Cheryl Brown Henderson The Tom Joyner Foundation Nancy Pelosi Barbara Morgan Linda Darling-Hammond Diane Ravitch The "Wisconsin 14"



2024

FRIEND OF EDUCATION PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS

2015	Paula Kerger	
2015	Patricia de Stacy Harrison	
2016	Senator Lamar Alexander	
2016	Senator Patty Murray	
2017	LeVar Burton	
2018	Ted Dintersmith	
2019	Dolores McCracken (Posthumously	y)
2020	Greta Thunberg	
2021	Judith (Judy) Heumann	
2022	Dolly Parton	
2023	Quinta Brunson	

American Library Association

NEA Friend of Education Award Application Process Timeline



November 2024

2025 Friend of Ed application and nomination package is available at www.NEA.org.



Application/Deadline

Applications will be available for nominations the week of November 4, 2025 and the application deadline is **January 24, 2025.**



Committee Selection

Friend of Ed Committee meets

virtually prior to February 3, 2025

for deliberation to recommend
recipient to the Board for approval.



February 2025

NEA Board of Directors take action to approve Friend of Ed Committee recommendation.